On Television – Fall 2008

August 19, 2008

Happy Birthday to me, True Blood starts on September 7th. If you’ve been living under a rock, that’s the new HBO show that’s based on the vampire books by Charlaine Harris. I saw an early version of the first episode, and it had both good points and some things that could have been done better. They’d better not screw this one up.

On September 18th, we get the first new Supernatural episode. I can’t wait to see what happens to Dean, but this season I’m hoping for just a little less angst and a little more ass-kicking. If you’ve never seen this show, check out the first season box set quick. If you’re determined, you’ll be able to catch all the way up by the premiere. It’s about eye-candy brothers who fight monsters to a rock music soundtrack. There’s a lot of humor and action, and it just keeps getting better. If you can watch either “Mystery Spot” or “Ghostfacers” from Season 3 and not be totally in love with this show, then you can’t be my friend anymore.

Pushing Daisies is back for a second season on October 1, probably thanks in part to its 12 freaking Emmy nominations. It’s about Ned, a pie maker who can bring the dead back to life with a touch. A second touch will undo the effect, and if he’s not fast enough then something else nearby will die in order to balance things out. Ned helps a private detective with a mean knitting habit solve murders, and both Ned’s girlfriend and his dog have been on the receiving end of his powers. It’s sad and cute and beautiful and fun. This is easily last fall’s best new show, so check it out if you haven’t yet.

Reaper, the hit-or-miss comedy show about a guy who hunts escaped souls for the devil, will be returning at some point, though a date hasn’t been announced. I can’t say that I’ve missed it this summer, but I’ll probably try to work it into my DVR schedule because Ray Wise is fantastic in this.

One Response to “On Television – Fall 2008”

  1. Sinner Ella Says:

    First time on your site, but I wanted to say thanks for the TV recap. I ordered HBO myself, simply for True Blood and Finished the 8th Sookie book a couple of days ago. The 7th can’t come soon enough.
    Didn’t know the premis of Pushing Daisies, but will definitely set the DVR now that I do. I amd a HUGE Reaper fan along with my husband. It is actually quite funny and the brain-numbing entertainment we’ve all come to expect from most UPN shows (or whatever they are now).
    Supernatural can’t start soon enough for me either. The last episode of the season left me with a WHY? feeling, but I’m sure we’ll find out soon enough.
    Thanks again for your spin on it all!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 38 other followers

