All Together Dead, by Charlaine Harris

May 10, 2007

The latest Charlaine Harris book is All Together Dead. It’s centered around the long-awaited vampire summit, which Sookie attends as an employee of Louisiana’s vampire queen. Between the events of the previous book and the devastating effects of Hurricane Katrina, the Louisiana delegation is in a precarious position. They face danger from other groups at the summit as well as from anti-vamp fanatics.

I read this book as slowly as I was able, since it’s one of my favorite series. Then as soon as I finished, I read it again. I rarely do that, but this is probably one of my favorite books in the series so far. There’s a good mix of story, action, and character development, the events of the summit don’t completely overwhelm everything else the way I was worried that they might.

One of my favorite things about this series is the way that Sookie’s choices always have very real consequences on her life. In All Together Dead, Sookie is dealing with her strange position with the vampires, trying to sort out her love life (as usual), and facing some social repercussions from being so involved in the supernatural world.

I’m really happy with the way these books have continued to develop. Now that Sookie is involved so deeply with the vampires, the tension between supernatural beings and humans seems to be increasing. Sookie’s personal life is also getting more high-stakes. She has two powerful, dangerous men confused about their feelings for her, and with each book she seems to gain more enemies.

I know I’m not the only one who wishes Mrs. Harris could write faster.

One Response to “All Together Dead, by Charlaine Harris”

  1. Corey Says:

    I agree, the Sookie Stackhouse series is brilliant and I’m looking for something similar but can’t find it. I love how the series feels realistic. I find some writers go way over the top and I loose interest in the story. Can you recommend anything with a Sookie Stackhouse feel?


Leave a Reply

